NHL'94 Forums

How to poke check without accidentally changing the controlled player?

KurtVogel

Hi!

I'm new to this awesome forum of this timeless and great game.

Finally posting because I couldn't find a topic on this.

B checking aka poke checking seems to be effective, especially if you're not familiar with the weight of your and the opponent's players.

However, you change the controlled player with the same button, so there's a problem.

I've had so many goals scored against me because I've tried to poke check with the last line of defense

and I've managed only to change the player I control to someone ten feet away from the puck and the opponent has a free ride to deke and score a goal.

I like the poke check when it works, so here's the question:

Is there anything that can be done to make sure your player will poke check and NOT switch to another player when pressing B?

I've tried a lot of things but can't for the life of me figure this out. Should I press D-pad to some direction at the same time, or should the player be facing the puck

or should I be at a certain distance?

Thank you.

Edited by KurtVogel

I share your frustration, I wish there was a dedicated player switch button and poke check button. I don't know of anything that can help, I'd be interested to see if anyone else has tips.

Having said that, I believe the player changes to closest to the puck, so this shouldn't happen too often.

Having said that, I believe the player changes to closest to the puck, so this shouldn't happen too often.

That is what it says in the manual, that when you don't already have the puck, a "B" will change to your closest player to the puck. But we all know there is other logic involved, because it doesn't always work when you want it to, and often works too well when you don't want it to. (Especially when you want to switch to a D-man as your opponent skates past your forwards towards your net! Dammit, switch to THEM!!!)