NHL'94 Forums

Add "Leave Game" option MID-GAME

Only after a game is over can you find "Leave Game" or "Exit Game" in the Pause Menu.

I want that button to be available mid-game too...

I play NHL 94 on my megadrive and I hate when some setting is accidentally wrong and I have to leave the sofa and reboot the megadrive :)

So I thought, maybe the Auto Goalie/Manual Goalie, located at the bottom of the pause menu mid-game, could be change so that instead of it setting Auto from Manual or vice versa, it would just jump to the code right after the game's title screen.

Edited by perkabrod

Currently trying to find the code for the triggering of Auto Goalie/Manual Goalie

When I've found that, what's the proper way to "link back" to an earlier address?

I read that you can make a link to the end of file where it's just empty space, if you want some additional long code...

I have no experienced what so ever in hex, well except from colors... I occasionally write some bash script for my mac and wrap those scripts into an interface.

But this hex stuff is completely new so I have no idea if there's any tricks, variables and functions or if it's just raw data so to speak...

I'm checking up on the tutorial about how to sniff up the code. Resources are really good on this site, happy to have found it :)

Yes, you can add extra code at the end of the ROM where it is all empty (all FF FF FF....).

To jump to the location of your new code, you use a JSR (jump to subroutine) instruction. your added code needs to end with an RTS instruction (return from subroutine).

Check the weight bug fix thread for an example, including the hex codes corresponding to JSR and RTS.

Yes, you can add extra code at the end of the ROM where it is all empty (all FF FF FF....).

To jump to the location of your new code, you use a JSR (jump to subroutine) instruction. your added code needs to end with an RTS instruction (return from subroutine).