NHL'94 Forums

New idea for a SNES rom?

Well so far I have created a few unique SNES roms that have been used in tournaments. These roms are based on ideas from the community. They are just basic hacks using SNES94 Editor v0.81, nothing too difficult. Thats what I like since I am not an expert hacker. Anyway, 2 of them are the "bench" rom which removed all the BEST LINE players so there are only bench players on every team and the "reverse" rom that uses the defenders as the forwards and the forwards are defenders. Both have received mixed reviews during tournament play.

Basically what I am looking for is new ideas on a unique rom that can be used in tournaments. Anyone have some interesting ideas? Please share if you do!

Bench Rom

nhl94bench.zip

Reverse Rom

nhl94reverse.zip

SNES Editor v0.81

SNES94Editor081.zip

****NEW ROM***

Here is the latest rom creation. I took a few of the suggestions and decided on this rom idea. All players attributes are reversed. 100 is now 25, 85-->35, 65-->45, 55 stayed the same, 45-->65, 35-->85, 25-->100. Now the bench players have become the star players. Mario Lemieux is now the worst player. Greg Smyth of Calgary is the best player. This will make "trudatman" happy because it slowed the game down. No player has a 100 for speed.

Ratings "Flip" Rom

nhl94ratingflip.zip

Edited by c4outlaws

I've considered making a slow ROM where all of the players have their speeds (either only speed or speed and agility) taken down a few notches. I'm curious to see if/what folks suggest.

Fast players tend to also have other good attributes.

So reverse the speeds.

6 -> 2 (1 is just too slow, for Genesis, anyway)

5 -> 2

4 -> 3

3 -> 4

2 -> 5

1 -> 6

eh. that just changes everybody around, making scrubby players into stars and verse vice-a. I think slowing the game down altogether would be far more interesting. so... do both!