NHL'94 Forums

A different visitor

Raymie

Hiya! I'm Raymie, and while I'm also a hockey fan, I'm here mostly to get some help doing a light hack of a different game by High Score Productions: College Football USA '97.

Built for the Genesis in June 1996, the engine for this game dates back to Bill Walsh College Football in 1993. CFB USA '97 was the last 16-bit college football game (only followed by a poor SNES port in late 1996).

Many of the same technical parameters apply from NHL '94 to CFB USA '97. It has the same checksum routine. Its teams have plain text headers with listed stadiums (never used). The sound is in the same format.

I'm here in case I need help. I'm already having trouble picking out the graphics (can't figure out the format in Tile Molester) and figuring out what else is in the team data besides the player information (every player is just 5 bits of information, believe it or not!). This is kind of an off-and-on thing for me, and I'm fairly new to it all, but I'm here, and that's what matters, right?

or a link to a video or... anything more, really. this place needs more hacker to the point where I'm really excited about a nonhockey Genesis beginner, but I am excited and curious. before I sold my Genesis, I had two Bill Walsh games. I probably played them twice, collectively, for two minutes total, if at all. you like the engine, I take it.

good luck with your project and post frequently!

Yeah, that and Arizona State is a beast in the game (I mean, heck, they made it to the 1997 Rose Bowl, so they SHOULD be!)

There are some specific long-term challenges I know will come into play: