NHL'94 Forums

World Junior Championship prequels

Jkline3

Prior to the officially sanctioned IIHF event, the "World Juniors" existed as invitational events for 3 years.  I've taken Slapshot's excellent rom and used it as a base for the 1974-76 tournaments.  I've been bloodying my nose with Tile Molester for a couple months now and have officially calculated that it takes 147.38 hours and a 3-time read through of the entire forum to feel like you sorta know what you're doing!  Center ice still eludes me...  I'm guessing that the logos weren't too elaborate for a low-profile tournament that started in 1970s Russia so am sticking with the plain ol' faceoff dot for now.  Sorry if these are not the most glamorous years but I figured I might as well start at the beginning.

Thanks again to everyone who has helped get me through some of the tricky parts and offered advice and feedback.  

• Like 2

1974 - Leningrad

The first U20 championship was hosted in Leningrad, USSR and was simply known as "International Youth Hockey Tournament".  The Soviets cruised through the field en route to the gold medal including a 9-0 drubbing of the Canadian bronze medalists while Finland took home the silver.  To be fair, the Russian Machine was not facing the cream of the Canadian crop but the Peterborough Petes - led by Hall of Fame coach Roger Neilson.  Not a whole lot of household names participated - most notably Doug Jarvis and Doug Halward for the Petes (ahem Canadians), Paul Holmgren for the US and Thomas Gradin for the Swedes.

1974 WJC - Leningrad.bin

Edited by Jkline3
  • Like 1

1975 - Winnipeg (and Minneapolis, Brandon and Fargo)