NHL'94 Forums

ADVICE FOR MANUAL GOALTENDING?

I'd like to think the guys i've played so far would tell you i'm actually a pretty good player, but i'm currently sitting here with a 3-7 record because I keep throwing away silly goals with the manual keeper.

I've never used them before a couple of weeks ago, and I have to say i've no idea how you guys that are so good with them do it. I take my hat off to you!

My biggest problems seem to be that if I double tap whilst poke checking it switches to the goaltender without me realising, who then shifts across in the direction i'm trying to poke check, leaving the goal wide open, and also that the delay between me trying to switch to manual when the attacker beats my last defender, and me actually getting control of the goalie means very often the auto keeper has already committed himself to a certain action before I can correct him.

Any tips would be much appreciated. I've been in a winning position in 4 or 5 of the games i've lost, and although I told myself I was going to treat this 1st season as a learning exercise and to learn the manual keeper, i'm already getting very frutrated with being competitive in games but having to score 4 or 5 to get a result in a game where probably 3 would be enough to get the win.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol

well double tapping B isnt gonna goto goalie, its only when you hold b...

as for the goaltending, it takes awhile to really learn and then longer to get good at it. Just try to anticipate certain shots, like slappers you come out of the net cut the angle down etc. Keep learning how to stop certain shots and positioning in net and youll get good at it. Over using GC can also be a big problem and leave you out of net position. It comes down to timing-anticipation and positioning, and a better goalie helps.