NHL'94 Forums

Making a homebrew (Genesis?) hockey game...

hnfoo

Has there ever been any talk or buzz about this?

I'm slightly familiar with homebrew games like 'Pier Solar' on the Genesis. It was, I think, though I've never played it, a really polished game made by an oufit that really knew what it was doing, and was sold as a physical copy with professional-type packaging and everything. I know similar projects have gone on for the Neo-Geo, and the DreamCast, and probably several other systems. As far as I undersand it, the homebrew games that are any good, are usually (always?) 'business' type projects. Like, it takes a group of really skilled people, and it takes a lot of time, so there has to be some kind of monetary reward/compensation in the end.

At least, that's what I understand about it. I'm not a programmer, or involved in anything like this, and I'm not knowledgable even in something like rom hacking.

So having said all that, do I understand things correctly when it comes to the size and scope of making a homebrew 16-bit game? I mean, obviously, back when official Genesis or SNES games were being released, it took...what...maybe a dozen or so really skilled people to make a game? And it probably took them a year or two?

Would it still be like that today? Like, has there been any technological advancements that would make making a 16-bit game today, any easier?

In the case of a hockey game, could portions of any of the early EA Hockey games be "copy/pasted" into a 'new' game? Or, for that to happen, woud it be required to have the source code for one of those games? Would any of the amassed knowledge about how to hack the roms be of any use?

It occurs to me, that the hardest thing about making a new hockey video game, would be the AI for the computer controlled players. Is that true do you think?